The Printing Office of Edes & Gill is CLOSED FOR THE SEASON.
Hours: CLOSED FOR THE SEASON, Re-Open April 12,2014
Have a great Holiday Season and THANK YOU for a great 2013!
The Printing Office of Edes & Gill, Boston’s only colonial era printing experience, opened its doors to the public on April 15, 2011
Located along the Freedom Trail at the historic Clough House, which is owned by and conveniently located adjacent to Old North Church.
With the opening of the colonial print shop on April 15, visitors will have the opportunity to engage living historians working their printers trade in pre-revolutionary Boston. These same printers were at the vanguard of citizen angst over British governmental policies that Bostonians felt violated their rights as Englishmen.
We offer unique personal encounters with history and colonial printing. As Boston’s only colonial trade experience and only colonial living history interpretive experience, our historic equipment, live demonstrations, interpreters and historic settings enable new levels of understanding how colonial printing affected communities and sparked a revolution in America.
Historians generally agree that Boston’s Patriot press was a major factor in America’s rise to rebellion and independence. Sites along today’s Freedom Trail were witnesses to our revolution, and meeting places for Patriots and Loyalists. Perhaps our colonial print shop can again be a meeting place for visitors and groups where they can gather and hear the stories of regular citizens who came together in 1775 in defense of their rights and who created a nation.
We seek to recreate this experience for visitors and school groups to Boston’s Freedom Trail and to rekindle the spirit of Samuel Adams who urged fellow citizens to join this “animating contest of Liberty!”
Please feel free to contact us at email@example.com.
About Benjamin Edes & John Gill
On April 7, 1755, Edes and Gill became the proprietors of The Boston Gazette and Country Journal. According to the author of Infamous Scribblers (2006), the Boston Gazette, arguably the most influential newspaper the country has ever known, got us into the Revolutionary War, sped up the course of the war and may have even determined the outcome of the war.
Gary Gregory, Executive Director and Print Master
The Printing Office of Edes & Gill is the brainchild of Gary Gregory, who is also the shop’s Executive Director and Print Master. He is on site during most business hours, providing demonstrations and educational lessons about the art and science of colonial printing.
Gary received his training from the master printers at Colonial Williamsburg, and has done extensive research into colonial printing equipment and methods. He demonstrated the trade for more than a year on his colonial printing press at the Museum of Printing in North Andover, Massachusetts, where he also taught full-day, hands-on seminars.
Gary is also the founder of Lessons on Liberty, which provides walking tours of Boston’s Freedom Trail. He has reenacted the Battle of Lexington and Concord, the Battle of Monmouth, etc. He is a member of the 10th Massachusetts Continental Regiment, a group known for its historical accuracy.
Advisory Board Members
Todd Andrlik, curator and author, Rag Linen
J.L. Bell, historian and author, Boston 1775
Bob Damon, historic site manager, Old North Church
Ben Edwards, tour guide and author, Walking Boston
Guy Heilenman, president, Rare Newspapers
Mimi LaCamera, president, Freedom Trail Foundation
Frank Romano, president, The Museum of Printing
The Clough House
Sitting close to the Paul Revere Mall and the Old North Church, the Clough House is a rare example of a detached single-family home in Boston’s core. From the plaque:
“This graceful home was built around 1712 and managed to survive when all its neighbors – including the house that Ben Franklin owned next door – were torn down. This was the home of one of Boston’s ‘substantial mechanicks,’ Ebenezer Clough, the master mason who helped build Christ Church (‘Old North’). Once, before the present-day promenade and newer buildings were here, many small brick houses like this one made up the prosperous neighborhood.”
Master Mason Ebenezer Clough built six identical houses at the back of Christ Church (Old North) in 1712. He settled in number 21 Unity, the only of the six still standing. The other five were demolished long ago. Benjamin Franklin owned one of the original attached row houses and two of his sisters resided there.
Freedom Trail is a registered trademark of the Freedom Trail Foundation.